Follow by Email

General Announcements November 22 - 26

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Fall 2010 * Issue No. 13
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Martha Maciel, editor, at ext. 3135 or email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

Writing Contest - JADE, a peer education program dedicated to the prevention and awareness of eating disorders, is having an essay contest about ads that either criticize unhealthy messages or compliments healthy messages about body size and shape. Students must write an essay of 500 words or less, typed, double-spaced, 12 point font, attached with a copy of the advertisement, essays submitted without the ad will not be considered. Include a separate cover page that contains: your name, major, CSUN e-mail and phone number. The essay and ad should be submitted to The advertisement must be attached as a JPeg or Pdf format. The first place prize will be of $100, second place will be of $50 and third of $25 in Matador gift cards. Some tips for your essay can include, what got your attention, what is the message about appearance, weight or food, what does it suggest about body shape and size, is the information on the ad accurate, are the bodies altered, how does the message on the ad make you feel about your body and does the message make you want to change something about yourself. The deadline to submit your essay is Dec. 8 by noon. Winners will be announced in February. 

College Television Awards - The College Television Awards is now accepting applications for their 32nd annual competition. The competition recognizes overall excellence in production and as such, the student executive producer, producer and co-producer will receive awards. The student must be enrolled in a college or university at the time they produced and completed their piece. The deadline to submit their pieces is Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011. For complete rules and guidelines visit College Television Awards .