Follow by Email

General Announcements May 9 - May 13

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Spring 2011 * Issue No. 15
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Martha Maciel, editor, at ext. 3135 or email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

UDWE - The next test date for the Upper Division Writing Exam is May 28, 2011. This is the last test that can be taken for those with a Spring 2011 expected graduation date. Registration ends on May 20. Undergraduate students must take or register to take the Upper Division Writing Test this semester if they will complete 75 units or more by the end of spring 2011. Students can take the exam after completing 56 units and meeting the Lower Division writing requirement. Students who have not taken the UDWPE or have not registered to take the exam by the completion of 75 units will have a hold placed on their Fall 2011 registration.

Congratulations to the 2011 Kappa Tau Alpha initiates – KTA initiates will be honored at the 2011 KTA reception on Tuesday, May 10. These KTA initiates are in the top 10 percent of their class and were nominated by the Journalism faculty.
Candidates for the Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism: Anastasia Atkins; Gustavo Benitez; Rachel Costahaude; Krista Daly; Rachel de Leon; Janine Der Bogosian; Kathryn Donahue; Amanda Evans; Kristen Hepinstall; Nicolaas Koppert; Ashton Lunceford; Rebecca Mahan; Christiaan Patterson; Kristin Phillips; Brittany Silverstein; Tatevik Tigranyan; Christianna Triolo
Candidates for the Masters of Arts Degree in Mass Communication: Heidi Amantullah; Paul Laverack
Dean’s Awards for Academic Achievement and Service: Senior: Nicolaas Koppert; Junior: Mayra Castaneda

Congratulations to Spring 2011 Journalism Scholarship winners: Chevron Outstanding PR Student Award ($600) - Sheila Rodriguez; Steven Fishman ($350) - Brittany Silverstein; National Notary Association ($500) – Brit-Gabrielle Sharon-Shasha; National Notary Association ($500) – Jessica Rubalcava; National Notary Association ($500) – Mayra Castaneda; Hearst Outstanding Broadcast News ($600) - Brittany Silverstein; Agness Underwood Outstanding Print Reporting ($600) - Brian De Los Santos; Outstanding Photojournalism Student ($250) – Nancy Bulacio; Joann DeSantis Advocacy Award ($250) - Brit-Gabrielle Sharon-Shasha; Flip Wilson Memorial ($22,931) - Feven Kiflegiorgis; Michael Emery Memorial ($500) – Julie Bien; Journalism Alumni Association ($500) – Angela Braza; Kenneth S. Devol ($500) – Joseph Tomaszewski

Congratulations  to KCSN News - KCSN News has received 6 awards in the Society of Professional Journalists "Mark of Excellence' competition for region eleven.
-Best All-Around Radio Newscast:  First place, "The Evening Update" KCSN News Staff
-Best Radio In-Depth Reporting: First place, Sharonna Allahyar "Las Vegas Gambling Revenue Declines"
-Second place, Brittany Silverstein, "Distracted Driving"
-Best Radio Sports Reporting: First Place, Corie Cox "Cal Tech Men's Basketball Losing Streak"
-Second place, Joseph Buttita "Old Guys Softball League"
-Best Radio News Reporting: Third place, Joseph Galli, "C-S-U Budget Protest"
The first place winners in the awards advanced to the SPJ National competition.

Careers in Sports Broadcasting Panel - The second, "Careers in Sports Broadcasting" panel featuring five of the LA-area's top sports announcers/executives will be presented by the Southern California Sports Broadcasters (SCSB). The panel will exclusively be for college students majoring in broadcast. The panel will provide wide-range insight into the employment requirements and opportunities in sports broadcasting. The event will take place at UCLA's Ackerman Hall, Sunday, May 15, starting at noon. For those who are interested in attending, you must contact SCSB coordinator Jeff Rose at (323) 650-1151.