Follow by Email

General Announcements December 12 - December 16

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Fall 2011 * Issue No. 16
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Christina Pembleton, editor, at ext. 3135, email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

Advisers – As a reminder, Journalism Department advisers will not hold office hours during the week of finals (December 12 – December 17). 

The Northridge Scholarship Program provides support for students who strive for high levels of achievement and want to be challenged through honors coursework, thirst for opportunities to work closely with faculty, and have a passion for their field of study. The Presidential Scholarship offers selected scholars $5,000 award, textbook discounts at the Matador Bookstore, and priority registration. Those seeking the scholarship must be full-time CSUN undergraduate students at the time of application and during the award year, must have a minimum of 3.5 cumulative GPA, must have completed at least 60 units but no more than 96 cumulative units by the end of spring 2012, and must attend a mandatory pre-application workshop. The deadline for application submissions is February 22, 2012, at 4 p.m. For more information about criteria, please visit  For the workshop schedule, please visit Please contact for further information.
Rental Books from the Matador Bookstore must be checked in and returned by December 16, 2011.

Fall Scholarship Winners - The Journalism Department would like to congratulate the following scholarship winners:
Jonathan Gonzalez - Angus Campbell Scholarship ($500)
Patrick Santiago - Ben Hecht Scholarship in Entertainment Journalism ($750)
Jorge Gutierrez Neri - Lisa Endig Journalism Writing Scholarship ($1,000)
Shayla Orange - Lisa Endig Journalism Writing Scholarship ($1,000)
Trene Todd - National Notary Association Scholarship ($500)
Kristin Hugo - Valley Press Club Scholarship for Community Journalism ($250)
Julie Bien - Tom Reilly Student Journalism Enterprise Fund ($1,000)
Jorge Gutierrez Neri - Tom Reilly Student Journalism Enterprise Fund ($2,000)
Brit-Gabrielle Sharon-Shasha - Flip Wilson Memorial Scholarship ($24,916)