Follow by Email

General Announcements March 19 - March 23

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Spring 2012 * Issue No. 9
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Christina Pembleton, editor, at ext. 3135, email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

Advisement - All Journalism students who plan to attend CSUN during the fall 2012 semester must see their advisers for academic counseling during the advisement period. Students will not be cleared for registration until the department has the counseling form on file. Advisers’ office hours are available on the table outside the Journalism Department office. The Journalism Department does not make appointments, so plan to see your adviser during his or her office hours. Pick up your advisement form and file in the department office (MZ 210) before seeing your adviser. Once advisement has been completed, both the advisement form and file must be returned to the office. If needed, you should also obtain the needed instructors’ signatures for any restricted classes. Advisement ends on April 20, 2012. Advisers will not be available during spring break. 

CAPTURED Submissions – The CAPTURED Research Journal editors are seeking submissions for their second annual journal. This year’s theme is “Social Justice, Activism, and Community Engagement.” Editors are looking for photography, articles, short films, short stories, animation, poems, essays and digital art for submissions. Selected works will be featured in the journal and on the interactive Website. The deadline for submissions is March 20, 2012. Submissions should be sent to   
Journalism Award - The Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ) has an award opportunity available to any undergraduate student studying journalism, communications or public relations. A $2,500 cash prize for the Novak Collegiate Journalism Award will be awarded to the first place winner who meets the qualification requirements. The second place winner will receive $1,500. Students are eligible to win the cash prize and a free flight to Washington, DC for an award ceremony at the National Press Club this summer. To qualify, students should submit their outstanding articles or series to Director Joe Starrs at Institute on Political Journalism, Collegiate Awards, 1706 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20009. The entry deadline is April 15, 2012. For more information, please visit For further questions, please contact Joe Starrs at

The CSUN Journalism Department Career Day on March 22, 2012, is an event for students who are serious about landing that first job in journalism, public relations and other media-related fields. The event will include a panel discussion with professionals including Tony Pierce, Blog Editor for 89.3 KPCC, Lauren Tobin, Owner of PANTHER PR, Lorenzo Benet, former Assistant Editor at People Magazine, Todd Bigelow, Freelance Photojournalist, and Toni Guinyard, Television Reporter at KNBC.The panelists will discuss their experiences and answer questions on a diverse range of professions. The event will be in the Presentation Room at the Oviatt Library from 9:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. 

SPRING 2012 JOURNALISM DEPARTMENT SCHOLARSHIPS & AWARDS - The Department of Journalism announces the availability of 10 scholarships and awards.  Winners will be announced in May 2012.  The scholarship criteria are listed below.  All applicants must be MAJORS in the Department of Journalism at CSUN.  Application forms are available online at or in the Journalism Office, MZ 210.  Applicants do not need to be enrolled in fall 2012, unless otherwise stated.

ROY S. AKERS JOURNALISM SCHOLARSHIP ($500) - This scholarship is open to all CSUN Journalism majors (continuing and/or transfer students) of junior or senior level academic standing. Students will submit an autobiographical sketch, be enrolled full-time with a minimum of 12 academic units remaining in spring 2012, and submit a 300-word essay detailing their professional goals and how the study of journalism will help achieve these goals.

The Tom Reilly Student Journalism Enterprise Fund ($2,000) - This scholarship provides one or more journalism juniors, seniors or graduate students, who are attending CSUN on a full-time basis (at least 12 units for undergraduate students and six units for graduate students or enrolled in Thesis) up to $2,000 each for a student project or enterprise. Preference will be given to student projects and enterprises that teach news reporting and presentation.

STEVEN FISHMAN SCHOLARSHIP ($350) - Supported by friends, family and colleagues, this award is given in memory of Steven Fishman, a CSUN journalism graduate who died of cancer.  The scholarship will be awarded to a graduating student who has shown strength in broadcasting sports, news or other programming and needs financial assistance to get started in a broadcasting career.

CHEVRON OUTSTANDING PUBLIC RELATIONS STUDENT AWARD ($750) - This scholarship recognizes the best public relations effort during summer or fall 2011 or spring 2012.  Applicants will be judged on a two-page essay and portfolio containing samples of public relations presentations in a class or during an internship.  The competition is open to all undergraduate and graduate students. 

HEARST OUTSTANDING BROADCAST NEWS AND IN-DEPTH REPORTING AWARD ($750) - This award recognizes the best broadcast reporting of hard news stories during summer or fall 2011 or spring 2012 in any of the journalism department broadcast news media--KCSN News, Valley View, or On Point.  The competition is open to all undergraduate or graduate students. 

AGNESS UNDERWOOD OUTSTANDING PRINT REPORTING AWARD ($750) - Named for a long-time inspiration to Los Angeles journalists, this annual award recognizes the best reporting from summer or fall 2011 or spring 2012 in any of the journalism department print news media.  The competition is open to all graduate and undergraduate students. 

OUTSTANDING PHOTOJOURNALISM STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP ($25)0 - This scholarship recognizes the best photojournalism during summer or fall 2011 or spring 2012 in the Department of Journalism.  Selection will be based on portfolio and financial need.  The competition is open to juniors or seniors.

JOANN DESANTIS ADVOCACY AWARD ($250) - This award honors Joann DeSantis, who was an administrative assistant in the journalism department for 19 years.  It will be presented to a CSUN journalism major who has worked to improve the lives of others through volunteerism.  Students may be nominated by someone or apply themselves.  Applicants need not be enrolled in fall 2012.

MICHAEL EMERY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP ($500) - This scholarship honors the late Dr. Michael Emery, a member of the journalism department's faculty for almost three decades.  The scholarship will be awarded annually to a graduate student studying journalism history, international news media, or mass media criticism, three areas of special interest to Prof. Emery.

JOURNALISM ALUMNI ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP ($500) - This scholarship will be awarded to a junior or senior with an interest in a career in journalism or a journalism-related field. Applicants must submit a brief essay detailing their professional and personal goals and how studying journalism will help achieve these goals. Applicants must have at least 12 units remaining at the end of the spring 2012 semester and enroll at CSUN in fall 2012.