Follow by Email

General Announcements December 9 - December 14

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Fall 2012 * Issue No. 16
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Christina Pembleton, editor, at ext. 3135, email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

Fall 2012 Scholarships - The Journalism Department would like to congratulate the following scholarship winners:
Rubi Martinez - Angus Campbell Scholarship ($500)
Cynthia Gomez - Ben Hecht Scholarship in Entertainment Journalism ($750)
Jeffrey Zide - Lisa Endig Journalism Writing Scholarship ($1,000)
Bijan Nasseripourtowski - National Notary Association Scholarship ($500)
Luis Rivas - National Notary Association Scholarship ($500)
Bijan Nasseripourtowski - San Fernando Valley PR Roundtable Scholarship ($250)
Luis Rivas - Valley Press Club Scholarship for Community Journalism ($250)
Sisi Chen -Tom Reilly Student Journalism Enterprise Fund ($2,000)
Champaign Williams - Flip Wilson Memorial Scholarship ($25,648)

Plagiarism - As a reminder for finals week, the CSUN Journalism Department is committed to the highest standards of academic excellence and integrity. Plagiarism and other forms of cheating will not be tolerated. Anyone caught cheating will receive a failing grade in the class and will be reported to the University for possible further disciplinary action.

The university catalog says the following about plagiarism:

Intentionally or knowingly representing the words, ideas or work of another as one’s own in any academic exercise. Comments:
1. Direct Quotation: Every direct quotation must be identified by quotation marks, by appropriate indentation or by other means of identification and must be promptly cited in a footnote. Proper footnote style for any academic department is outlined by the “MLA Style Sheet” or K. L. Turabian’s A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations. These and similar publications are available in the Matador Bookstore and at the reference desk of the Oviatt Library.
2. Paraphrase: Prompt acknowledgment is required when material from another source is paraphrased or summarized in whole or in part in your own words. To acknowledge a paraphrase properly, one might state: “to paraphrase Locke’s comment . . .’’ and conclude with a footnote identifying the exact reference. A footnote acknowledging only a directly quoted statement does not suffice to notify the reader of any preceding or succeeding paraphrased material.
3. Borrowed Facts or Information: Information obtained in one’s reading or research that is not common knowledge among students in the course must be acknowledged. Examples of common knowledge might include the names of leaders of prominent nations, basic scientific laws, etc.
Materials that contribute only to one’s general understanding of the subject may be acknowledged in the bibliography and need not be immediately footnoted. One footnote is usually sufficient to acknowledge indebtedness when a number of connected sentences in the paper draw their special information from 1 source. When direct quotations are used, however, quotation marks must be inserted and prompt acknowledgment is required.

Anna Chennault Scholarship - AAJA is proud to announce the 2013 Council for International Cooperation/Anna Chennault Scholarship and encourages rising college sophomores to apply. The winner will receive a $3,900 scholarship and an opportunity to be a Voices student news project participant at the 2013 AAJA convention in New York with all travel, lodging and registration costs covered. Applications must be received by May 3, 2013. $3,900 will go towards the student’s college education. $1,100 will go towards travel, lodging and registration costs for the student to attend AAJA’s national annual convention in August 2013 in New York as a Voices student news project participant. Depending on the winner’s area of study, the student will also be paired with a professional print, online or broadcast mentor at the convention to help them network. Applicants must be committed to AAJA’s mission, must be college freshman going into their sophomore year, and the student who is awarded the scholarship must become an AAJA student member. For more information including how to apply, please visit