Follow by Email

General Announcements May 6 - May 10

Cal State Northridge Journalism Department's Monday Memo
Newsletter for Journalism Majors
Internships, jobs, accomplishments and general announcements
Spring 2013 * Issue No. 14
To submit information to the Monday Memo, please contact Christina Pembleton, editor, at ext. 3135, email submissions to, or stop by MZ 210. The deadline for submission is Noon, Wednesday.

Office Hours - Prof. Lori Baker-Schena will not hold office hours until further notice.

Computer Lab - The department has reinstated an open computer lab period so students can access certain software programs for assigned multimedia projects. Lab hours will be staffed by a student assistant from the department’s technology area to help with any problems. Starting this week, the lab will be open in Manzanita 211 for student use on Wednesdays from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and Fridays from 10 to 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Spring 2013 ScholarshipsCongratulations to the following spring 2013 scholarship winners:

  • Shaleeka Powell (Roy S. Akers Journalism Scholarship - $500)
  • Emily Olson (Chevron Outstanding PR Student Award - $750)
  • Brenda Garcia (Steven Fishman Memorial Scholarship) - $350
  • Brenda Garcia (Hearst Outstanding Broadcast News) - $750
  • Loren Townsley (Agness Underwood Outstanding Print Reporting) - $750
  • Luis Rivas (Joann DeSantis Advocacy Award) - $250
  • Taeko Morimura (Michael Emery Memorial) - $500
  • Jeffery Zide (Outstanding Photojournalism Student) - $250
  • Christiana Coleman (Kenneth S. Devol) - $500